top of page

Wendigo, by Em Cross

Updated: Jul 17, 2020

[Photo by Rythik, on Unsplash.]


 

could it be I’m just tired

of lingering impotent in the shadows

that your lumber mills and coal-snarling houses

printed on the ground?

could it be I’m just tired

of sniffing in circles, tongue hanging,

tearing into the scraps you leave behind in a way

that barely fills

my stomach up?

I don’t remember how long it’s been

since the lean curves of my gut

started eating into themselves for hunger.

could it be I’m just tired

of letting you in and out of my home,

watching as you scrape cruel childish letters

to bruise and scar trees’ flesh?

could it be I’m just tired

of lingering on the sword-edge of non-existence,

letting you pretend that nothing

is here to see your disrespect?

it could be that if you’re

careful, tread swift and light, and leave only

scent behind for me, you might still

walk home again.

it could be that if you’re

heedless, tossing selfish trash from your hands

and your mouth as you walk through

land that doesn’t

belong to you,

I’ll track you. I’ll find you, smell you

out by your greedy ignorance, and then

I’ll give you

the world’s vengeance

and my hunger. you see, it could be

that I’m tired, but not so tired I’ve forgotten

what you should have remembered.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page